Menu

Château de Sancerre

In the heart of the terroirs
trace background

Experience a unique wine tasting at the top of the Tour des Fiefs, with a 360° panorama over the Loire and its vineyards.

Starting at 6.00 €
Tarifs
Adult
12.00 €
From 12 to 18 years old
6.00 €
Would you like book your visit ?

On the terrace at the top of the Tour des Fiefs, take in the fabulous view over the vineyards of Sancerre. Our Sommelier will guide you through a tasting of the prestigious wines of Sancerre, paired with local culinary specialities. 

Share

Château de Sancerre A unique terroir with an extraordinary history

« Go forth before the best » is the motto of Château de Sancerre. Situated on the left bank of the Loire, it is one of the rare châteaux to bear the name of an appellation. With an exceptional terroir composed of four different soil types (flint, chalk, clay and sand), and a total of 55 hectares of vines of an average age of 25 years, Château de Sancerre crafts wines that reflect this diversity and heritage.  The region’s semi-continental climate produces well-structured Sauvignon Blanc, with fresh, bright aromas of ripe gooseberry and smoky, flinty notes. The wines of Château de Sancerre are all made, aged and bottled exclusively at the château.

The entire estate enjoys Level 3 HEV certification (High Environmental Value), guaranteeing a high level of environmental performance in biodiversity conservation, management of fertiliser use and irrigation and the control of phytosanitary products for each site.

The Wine Tourism Trail An unforgettable visit

A tasting session to the heart of terroirs

From Julius Caesar to Louis-Alexandre Marnier, Château de Sancerre is steeped in a rich history. Plunge into the momentous past of Sancerre, marvel at the beauty of the 360° views from the Tour des Fiefs, the last vestige of the feudal chateau. And during your visit, accompanied by our Sommelier Guide, we will initiate you into the pleasures of the finest wines of the chateau, paired with local specialities: a white Sancerre with Chavignol goat’s cheese, a Sancerre rosé with Sancerre almond biscuits, and the Cuvée du Connétable plus a red Sancerre with Sancerre dried ham.

A tasting session to the heart of terroirs

Marie's tips

Œnologist in Château de Sancerre

Chateau de Sancerre’s wines are vinified, matured and bottled on-site. The diversity of the parcels, comprising white soils, flint stone and limestone is perfectly well mastered in view of adapting the vine-growing to each terroir. The art of blending is carefully undertaken in keeping with Louis de Sancerre’s motto – “Overtake the very best”. Our Sancerre wines are renowned worldwide and satisfy the finest connoisseurs.

Practical information

Guided tours and tastings, on April to September-11.00 am to 05.00 pm

Price: Adults 12€ / Children 12-18 years 6€ / Free for under 12s

Minimum 4 people, limited to 15 people

Château de Sancerre
6 Rue Porte César
18300
Sancerre
0248785153
tourisme@chateaudesancerre.fr

The wines of Sancerre Our selection

Chateau de Sancerre Sancerre Blanc
Sancerre Blanc sec

We blend three terroirs that are typical of the Sancerre appellation to make this white wine. Each one has its own special characteristics: the flint stone offers ageing potential, structure, freshness and aromas of citrus fruit and minerality. The terres blanches (white soils) bring about roundness and white flower aromas (lily and acacia) and tropical fruit (lychee and pineapple); the Caillottes (hard limestone) and the Griottes (soft limestone), provide freshness, floral and intense citrus fruit aromas. The combination of these terroirs produces a refined, elegant and complex wine.

Find this wine on our eshop
Chateau de Sancerre Terre de chailloux
Sancerre Terre de Chailloux

By exploring the best that our terroirs have to offer, we have elaborated a limited number of Terre de Chailloux 2015. The word “stone” in the local dialect is pronounced – chailloux: from this terroir we have carefully selected south-facing parcels of low yielding top quality Pinot Noir. The harvest is handpicked, transported in small crates and sorted in order to extract the quintessence of this superb variety.

Find this wine on our eshop
Chateau de Sancerre Terre de silex
Sancerre Terre de Silex

By exploring the best that our terroirs have to offer, we have elaborated a limited number of bottles of Terre de Silex 2017. The careful selection of our parcels has allowed us to try an unprecedented blend, derived from a soil that is 100% flint-stone, revealing all the clarity and precision of this magnificent terroir. The location has provided this wine with aging potential, structure, freshness and minerality.

Find this wine on our eshop
trace-avis

Our clients reviews

Château de Sancerre
The best view of Sancerre and the surrounding area, paired with a knowledgable guide and great wine and local food tasting... well recommended!!!
Debbie19741 .
Château de Sancerre
We had a wonderful guided tour of the grounds and the tower, and a delicious wine and cheese tasting. Highly recommend! The best view around of the village and ...
Clive R.
Would you like book your visit ?

Experience a unique wine tasting at the top of the Tour des Fiefs, with a 360° panorama over the Loire and its vineyards.

Our events Château de Sancerre proposes events and activities all year round.

Open days, special tastings, farmer’s markets…  get all the latest news of Château de Sancerre.

The vineyard by bike

From June 2020
10h00 - 18h30
6 rue Porte César,
18300
Sancerre
Invitation to discover our vineyards by bike and tasting in the cellar of 2 cuvées from our best terroirs.

Boutique

June - July - August
Monday to Sunday: 10am - 7pm
6 rue Porte César,
18300
Sancerre
Come and discover the wines of Château de Sancerre, at the foot of the castle!

Organise your visit Make your visit an even richer experience by discovering our local partners in Sancerre and the surrounding region.

Looking for a restaurant, a charming place to stay, the most interesting places to visit in the region? Château de Sancerre and its partners know all the best addresses.

Our partners oenotouristiques
Our partners professionnels
Our partners oenotouristiques
Our partners professionnels

Menu

Château de Sancerre

Au cœur des terroirs
trace background

Profitez d’une dégustation inédite au sommet de la Tour des Fiefs avec un panorama à 360° sur la Loire et les vignobles.

A partir de 6.00 €
Tarifs
Adulte
12.00 €
De 12 à 18 ans
6.00 €
Vous souhaitez Réserver ce parcours ?

Sur la terrasse, au sommet de la Tour des Fiefs, laissez-vous surprendre par une vue exceptionnelle sur les vignobles de Sancerre. Notre sommelier vous proposera une dégustation des vins prestigieux de Sancerre en accord avec des spécialités culinaires locales.

Partager

Château de Sancerre Un terroir unique pour une histoire atypique

« Passe avant le meilleur » est la devise emblématique du Château de Sancerre, situé sur la rive gauche de la Loire. Il est l’un des rares châteaux à porter le nom d’une appellation. Avec un terroir exceptionnel de 4 sols différents (silex, craie, argiles et sables), 55 hectares de vignobles et des vignes de 25 ans d’âge en moyenne, les vins du Château de Sancerre reflètent la diversité et l’authenticité du lieu. Le climat semi-continental de la région produit des Sauvignon Blanc dotés d’une belle structure, vifs et frais, évoquant des arômes de groseille à maquereau mûre, de notes de fumée et de pierre à fusil. Les vins du Château de Sancerre sont vinifiés et élevés jusqu’à leur mise en bouteilles, directement au Château.

L’ensemble du vignoble est labellisé HVE niveau 3 (Haute Valeur Environnementale), une certification d’exploitation qui atteste d’une obligation de résultats en matière de biodiversité, de gestion de la fertilisation, d’irrigation et de la stratégie phytosanitaire pour chaque site.

Le parcours oenotouristique Une visite hors du temps

Une dégustation Au cœur des terroirs

De Jules César à Louis-Alexandre Marnier, l’histoire du Château de Sancerre est généreuse. Le temps d’une visite, revivez les heures glorieuses de Sancerre, imprégnez-vous de la beauté des paysages à 360° et terminez votre voyage par une dégustation au sommet de la Tour des Fiefs, dernier vestige du château féodal de Sancerre. Accompagné de notre guide sommelier, nous vous initierons aux cuvées renommées du Château associées aux spécialités locales : Sancerre blanc accompagné de crottin de Chavignol, Sancerre rosé et croquets de Sancerre puis cuvée du Connétable et du Sancerre rouge avec du jambon Sancerrois.

Une dégustation Au cœur des terroirs

Les conseils de Marie

Œnologue au Château de Sancerre

Les vins du Château de Sancerre sont vinifiés et élevés jusqu’à leur mise en bouteilles, directement au Château. Nous maîtrisons parfaitement la diversité des parcelles entre Terres Blanches, Silex et Caillottes afin d’adapter la conduite du vignoble à chaque terroir. L’art de l’assemblage est exigeant pour rester loyal à la devise du Connétable de Sancerre : « Passe avant le Meilleur ». Nos Sancerre sont de renommées mondiales et comblent les amateurs de vins les plus pointus.

Informations pratiques

Visite guidée et dégustation sur réservation d’avril à septembre : Mardi 17h – Mercredi au samedi 11h et 17h – Dimanche 11h

Adulte 12€ / Enfant 12-18 ans 6€ / Gratuit -12 ans

Remboursement d’une visite pour un carton de 6 bouteilles de vin acheté.

Minimum 4 personnes, limité à 15 personnes

Château de Sancerre
6 Rue Porte César
18300
Sancerre
0248785153
tourisme@chateaudesancerre.fr

Les vins du Château de Sancerre Notre sélection de cuvées

Chateau de Sancerre Sancerre Blanc
Sancerre Blanc sec

Pour élaborer ce Sancerre blanc, nous assemblons les trois terroirs caractéristiques de l’Appellation. Chacun possède ses propres caractéristiques : le silex amène du potentiel de garde, de la structure, de la fraîcheur et de la minéralité; les terres blanches de la rondeur et des arômes de fleurs blanches (lys et acacia) et de fruits exotiques (litchi et ananas); les Caillottes (calcaire dur) et les Griottes (calcaire tendre), de la fraicheur, des arômes floraux et d’agrumes intenses. L’assemblage de ces terroirs donne une cuvée fine, élégante et complexe.

Retrouvez ce vin sur notre boutique en ligne
Chateau de Sancerre Terre de chailloux
Sancerre Terre de Chailloux

C’est en explorant le meilleur de nos terroirs que nous avons créé la cuvée Terre de Chailloux, en nombre de bouteilles limitées. En patois local, « cailloux » se dit « chailloux » : nous avons soigneusement sélectionné sur ce terroir, des parcelles de Pinot Noir à faibles rendements et exposées plein sud, pour la qualité de leur raisin. La vendange manuelle et le tri sur table nous permettent d’extraire la quintessence de ce superbe cépage.

Retrouvez ce vin sur notre boutique en ligne
Chateau de Sancerre Terre de silex
Sancerre Terre de Silex

C’est en explorant le meilleur de nos terroirs que nous avons créé cette cuvée Terre de Silex en nombre limité. Une sélection minutieuse de nos parcelles a permis de tester un assemblage inédit, issu d’un sol 100% Silex, qui révèle toute la netteté et la précision de ce terroir. Notre Terre de Silex offre à cette cuvée du potentiel de garde, de la structure, de la fraîcheur et de la minéralité.

Retrouvez ce vin sur notre boutique en ligne
trace-avis

Les avis de nos visiteurs

Château de Sancerre
Personne très agréable et de bonnes explications tout au long de la visite. Bonne dégustation avec différents vin et la charcuterie et fromage locaux.
Juju .
Vous souhaitez Réserver ce parcours ?

Profitez d’une dégustation inédite au sommet de la Tour des Fiefs avec un panorama à 360° sur la Loire et les vignobles.

Nos événements Toute l’année le Château de Sancerre vous invite à ses événements.

Portes ouvertes, dégustation spéciale, marché gastronomique, soyez les premiers informés de l’actualité du Château de Sancerre.

Le vignoble à vélo

A partir de juin 2020
10h00 - 18h30
6 rue Porte César,
18300
Sancerre
Invitation à découvrir à vélo nos vignes et dégustation au caveau de 2 cuvées issues de nos meilleurs terroirs.

Boutique

Juin - Juillet - Août
Lundi au Dimanche : 10h - 19h
6 rue Porte César,
18300
Sancerre
Venez découvrir les vins du Château de Sancerre, au pied du château !

Château de Sancerre Nos dernières actualités

Organisez votre séjour Enrichissez votre visite et découvrez nos partenaires locaux à Sancerre et dans la région.

Vous avez envie de découvrir un restaurant, un gîte de charme, les adresses incontournables de la région ? Le Château de Sancerre vous propose de partir à la rencontre de ses partenaires.

Nos partenaires oenotouristiques
Nos partenaires professionnels
Nos partenaires oenotouristiques
Nos partenaires professionnels